MENU   Donate   Get Newsletter


The control and management of the affairs of Montana's Outdoor Legacy Foundation is vested solely in the Board of Directors.

Board members support the Foundation financially, give freely of their time to help with fundraising activities and watch over your investment in the great outdoor experience. Their passion for the natural, cultural and recreational resources of Montana coupled with a deep desire to protect and enhance those resources are what makes them the perfect stewards of your philanthropy.

Board of Governors

Errol Rice

Chair Helena, MT

Please contact Errol at

Errol is the Executive Vice President and Managing Director of the Montana Stockgrowers Association. Originally from Denton, Errol is a fifth generation Montanan, whose family has been farming and ranching in the state since 1877. Errol holds a Master of Business Administration from Arizona State University’s W.P. Carey School of Business and a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture Education and Extension from Montana State University.

Mike Talia

Treasurer Helena, MT

Mike Talia is a Helena lawyer who works in the public sector. He has more outdoor hobbies than time and can often be found with his family hunting, fishing, camping, skiing, backpacking, trail running, cycling, floating, or just out enjoying the open air. He prefers the hard to reach places where his phone doesn’t work and hopes to keep those places that way. Mike is a graduate of the University of Montana School of Law and San Jose State University.

Jeff Hagener

Retired Helena, MT

Jeff retired in December 2016 as the Director of Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks (MFWP), Helena, Montana. Jeff has been reappointed as MFWP’s Director by Montana Governor, Steve Bullock in February, 2013. Jeff served as the Director of MFWP for eight years, previously under Governors Judy Martz and Brian Schweitzer. Hagener has over 30 years experience working in land, fish and wildlife management, and conservation. His experience ranges from being a packer and guide in the Bob Marshall Wilderness, to conducting range and wildlife inventories for the BLM, to mine reclamation and state land management at the MT Dept. of State Lands and Natural Resources and Conservation, to eight years as Director of MT Fish, Wildlife & Parks, two years as a Managing Director for the American Prairie Foundation and most recently, as the Director of Development for the Montana Wildlife Federation. Jeff holds degrees from both the University of Montana and Montana State University in Wildlife Biology and Agriculture/Range Science. Jeff has received numerous awards over the years for his leadership skills and accomplishments.

Matt Jones

Board Member - 2018 Bozeman

Matt Jones is government and corporate relations for Burlington Northern Santa Fe (BNSF) Railway. He is located in Bozeman, MT

Dennis Konopatzke

Board Member - 2018 Columbia Falls, MT and Dallas, TX

Dennis is an attorney and businessman from Columbia Falls, Montana, and Dallas, Texas.  Dennis is an active outdoors person who enjoys hunting and fishing.  After serving on the board since 2002, Dennis board term expired and now serves as executive director.   Dennis can be reached at or 817-510-6613

Ex Officio Directors

Dan Vermillion

Livingston, MT

Dan was raised on the banks of Yellowstone River in Montana. After spending years guiding some of the world’s most exotic and famed fisheries, Dan formed Sweetwater Travel with his brothers, Jeff and Pat Vermillion. Sweetwater Travel is based in Livingston, Montana, and owns and operates fishing camps in Alaska, the Bahamas, Brazil, British Columbia, Montana, and Mongolia. Sweetwater’s camps have established the standard for a high level of service in remote, wilderness settings. Dan has served on Montana’s Fish, Wildlife, and Parks Commission since 2007 and is presently the chair.

Mike Volseky

Helena, MT

Mike is the Deputy Director for Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks and is the Foundation Liaison. Mike served as Montana Governor Brian Schweitzer’s Natural Resource Policy Advisor for over seven years. Prior to working for the Schweitzer administration, he was operations manager for a Montana-based natural beef company for three years, executive director of the Montana Agricultural Heritage Commission for two years, and executive director of the Montana Association of Conservation Districts for seven years. Mike lives in Helena and can often be found in the mountains or on the rivers with his three boys, Colin, Alex, and Thomas.